Dances with midges

By swiftmidges

Threes

This is a quick iPad snap of the view down the Kyles of Bute just after 9.30 this morning. I paused in a lay by on the little stretch of single track road by Rhubodach and took it.

Threes.

On the way home from Bute tonight I was one of three. Three cars went in a little fast convoy over the single track road to Sandbank. The first was a district nurse (I think), the second was Catriona the vet and third was me, a priest. Different needs, different people & creatures met, but all three returning home.

I was also to be one of three this morning, I had learned a few moments before I took the photo, as I waited to board the ferry. The first was an ambulance. The second was McKellar's the undertakers, and the third was me, a priest. We were all visitors at the home of Baby Nicola (her pink feet are here) who died this morning, exactly 17 weeks after she was born. I paused in that lay by and took the sea and light and dark as I tried to get my head around what her parents must be facing, and tried to get my ahead around trying to sit beside them as a priest to do... well, whatever it is you can do. Which is nothing. Requiescat in pace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.