The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

The Christmas fairy

This is my Christmas fairy, she has had pride of place at the top of my Christmas tree every year since I was eight years old! She was given to me, Christmas 1965 or there about by the lovely farmer Mr Charman, and his housekeeper Mrs Clarke who lived on the little farm just down the road from where I lived. I used to love visiting the farm, it was my most favourite place on earth, and Mr Charman used to take me with him to collect eggs from his chicken, and he had pigs and cows too. I was quite unhappy and lonely as a child and sitting in the granary on the bran store boxes chatting with this lovely old man was an oasis in my world.
For the first 30 or so years my fairy sported a spotty pale blue nylon net dress, with wings and a silver wand with a star at the top, but around 1991 I decided she was looking far too tatty and deserved better, so I made her the snazzy red outfit she still wears today, complete with knickers with a lace heart...I am not sure what happened to her wand.
Every year when I pack her into the decorations box and she closes her eyes, I feel so sad.....I hope one day my girlies and grandchildren will love her and look after her as much as I have....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.