Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Kissy! Kissy!

Some days are like sailing. It's a sunny, warm day with light winds, just enough to fill the sails. The winds pick up a bit causing the boat to move along at a faster pace. Clouds begin to billow up on the horizon and move toward the boat. The waves begin to get higher. Pretty soon the rain is pelting down. The winds gust against the full sails and the boat begins to list to the side. After a period of time, the winds die down and the sea returns to calm.

Today started out calm - very cold - but calm. I had just sitting down to enjoy a cup of coffee and do a cursory check of my email, when a new email popped up. It was from my oldest daughter and son-in-law. A couple of weeks ago, I had emailed to them an invitation for Christmas. Their email to me today said that they would not be able to come. No other reason.

A short time later, I received another email from a client who needed some information. Thankfully, I had anticipated his need and had it already available. The client also asked me to update some previous research. As I was doing so, I found some very recent information which will cause some significant problems for me as we move forward on this project.

I went to a lunch meeting and found out that a good friend that I have known for many years had a massive coronary on Monday. He's still in critical condition. The doctors don't know if he will survive.

All storms do subside, but not without evidence of some kind of battering. After learning of my friend, I was feeling a bit battered, so I took a walk. On my walk, I noticed several Canadian Geese walking around on the ice. Two of the geese were performing some kind of "dance". Then, they "kissed".

Tomorrow is another day with another set of challenges. I am hoping that my positive attitude will return in the morning.

Have a great evening and a great day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.