All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

B12

Exciting day today as I actually got to leave the house for the first time in 9 days! Ok, so it was only for a hospital appointment but felt like such a big deal haha!

I had an appointment with a haematologist because one of the things my fertility consultant had identified in me was an unusual gene mutation which means I need to take high doses of folic acid, Vitamin B6 & Vitamin B12 throughout my whole pregnancy. Not many NHS consultants appear to have heard of it but when the haematologist at my local hospital heard about me, via my NHS obstetrician, she asked to see me as she knows a bit about it. I had previously been under the impression it was a genetic disorder but she implied it may not be in my case and wants to do further tests on me after the baby has been born. If it is genetic then I will need B12 injections for the rest of my life, if not, it can be managed by diet. From what she says I may have to wait a while to find out, but in the meantime I had an injection today of this lovely red liquid which is the B12.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.