Twisted Tresses

This is a photograph of a very sweet painting hanging in our bedroom at Sugar Beach in Saint Lucia.

I love the expressions on these lovely little faces, and all that wonderful colour! The artist has signed the piece JAG. I looked him up on the internet, and discovered his name is Jonathan Guy-Gladding.

Here is an exerpt from his biography:

"The best thing that ever happened to me was being sent to St. Lucia in 1999. I had been living in New York City working as a computer artist for Sesame Street while trying to squeeze in my own art on evenings and weekends. I think even if I had more time, what I was lacking most was inspiration.

... What I thought would be a two-year interruption in my life has now turned into twelve and counting. And rather than an interruption it’s been pivotal for me both as a person and an artist. It is my hope that I can convey the beauty of the Caribbean and its people and do my part in preserving what is so special about this part of the world and sharing that with others. "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.