Gerda's Fotojournaal

By Gerda

12-12-13 Freya

Yesterday Freya was 8 months.
It was a good day. Started with a walk with frost and sun. I visited another family for the last time as volunteer. With this family I will stay in contact too. I will visit the children every month. Near christmas we will have dinner with the family.
What I see is that just my behaviour, the way I treat children, the way I act is an example to parents. I talk a lot to children, I listen, and play, I sing a lot and do some singing plays with them. The mother told me it is already fun when you enter. That is because the children remember the singing and clapping. The simple songs and movements mean a lot to them.
It makes me very happy to do this kind of volunteer work. After two years the volunteer work in the family stops. In the new year I will start in a new family. But with the families I've been in contact I will stay in contact. In this big city a bit of real contact is so important to people.

The picture of Freya I took on the beach this afternoon. Every day I walk 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the afternoon. It is a big joy for her and for me. Special on such a sunny day like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.