Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A light in the darkness ...

I have a very particular take on Advent. I can't imagine it in anything other than the darkness of the north-western fringes of Europe that I inhabit, in winter (an Antipodean Advent is beyond me). Today, however, has been lamentably gloomy, so that going out for a walk was a gargantuan effort without which I would have succumbed entirely to mental gloom to match the weather. Even then I wasn't cheered - it was dark under the trees by 3pm, and not much better out in the open; the wind had dropped; it was horribly mild and damp. And then, walking round the loch in the Bishop's Glen, I saw the flickering light across the water. It's left of centre in the photo, between the left-hand tree and the middle one. It looked like the hearth-fire of my Celtic forebears.

The fact that I knew it to be the fairy lights on Santa's sleigh in the garden of the one house in the glen didn't spoil it. Not really ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.