Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Solomon Crocodile

Solomon Crocodile by Catherine Rayner was chosen as best picture book in 2013 by booksellers and librarians in The Netherlands. Libraries and schools use this book in January, when we're having a ten-day reading event for toddlers. We receive groups at the library from kindergartens and we read to them from the picture book of the year, we do something with that picture book (I don't know yet what that is, a song or a game or whatever) and the children will have some fruit. In most libraries and at schools it is referred to as something that translated would sound like breakfast-storytelling. Alas, we have to be wise and healthy...., so we're not allowed to give out anything but fruit. Which is no problem at all with the kids, nowadays they are very used to have a fruit snack at school.

Toddlers who come to library to get a library card in those ten days will receive a little crocodile finger puppet. That's the little crocodile in the photo.

I must admit, though I love individual toddlers,  I am not that fond of reading to them as a group... It's a speciality some people naturally posses,  I am not one of those. But I'll manage to get through. I usually try and get teamed up with colleagues who love to read to toddlers and then I will volunteer to cut and serve the fruit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.