Hinterland

This is a work called "Hinterland" by Norma Starszakowna which hangs in what is called the Members Lobby of the Scottish Parliament. It consists of a series of digital and hand processed printed silk banners.

The explanatory note next to it talks of a work that "celebrates the achievements and aspirations of the Scottish people".

However my reaction it is a bit less cerebral and has been since I first saw it, when I was a member of the committee that bought the first artworks for the building. I love it's variety, textures and colours.

And I never see this image (in Edinburgh) without thinking of the old verse about the Glasgow coat of arms:

Here is the bird that never flew
Here is the tree that never grew
Here is the bell that never rang
Here is the fish that never swam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.