Chrysanthemum

By Chrysanthemum

Keighley's Christmas Lights

The blue and green Christmas lights in Keighley’s town hall square have remained the same since…well, I think they might even have been put up for the millennium and just got left there, as though forgotten. The flexes and little light bulbs have certainly remained wrapped chokingly round our lovely cherry trees all year long for many years now, and even though a big fuss is made about the annual ‘switch-on’, even with a competitor from X-factor hired to do the honours this year, it’s the same old lights that get switched on. Do I sound less than enchanted with the display? Do I feel as though the magic is missing? You certainly wouldn’t be wrong on either count. I tried to photograph the lights yesterday evening on my way home, but since many of them were out of action, the result was a resounding failure. Ever optimistic, I returned this evening hoping that the perhaps the problem might have been addressed, but with a few ideas to make an attractive photograph out of what was there anyway. Not only was I disappointed that no repairs had been carried out, but even more of the lights were firmly out of action! A poor show! This photograph is about the best I could make of it…

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.