horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

The Holly and the Ivy

Tomorrow I'm running a 'Bake Off' at work between two different areas of the business. I'd first suggested it during the Great British Bake Off, but getting everyone available proved a nightmare. So, tomorrow is our Christmas lunch (this must be the only time of year that "I'm going out for lunch," is a legitimate excuse for major projects to be put on hold) and that's at 3, meaning we won't have the normal lunch hour, and the morning needed... Elvenseseseses.... At Ten.

There are about 10 of us baking I think (all for charidy of course), with the two department heads as judges. Some are taking it mightily seriously (from the other area...). I'm going with tried and tested (though I tried fudge again for a little extra sweet kick as the Holly Macs are my usual Christmas spiced orange which has quite a bitter chocolate ganache; and the Ivy Macs do have a sweet buttercream filling, but are tempered with a lovely savoury pandan undercurrent).

The fact I'm uber-busy at work just now and can't really afford all of the time this frippery takes up is neither here nor there. Mind you, I can't really drink much tomorrow - off up to Aberdeen early doors on Saturday to go and see me mam (she's dead keen to see me, mainly because I'm already pencilled in to help shift some furniture, fix her phone and hi-fi speakers, and be a taxi service in the evening for a do she has...).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.