Adventures

By asussexlady

Look up from your smart phone

Out & about today, at a place I've been to many times, I came across this mosaic mural. It obviously isn't new, but I seem to have missed it every other time! (Though to be fair, I'm not often down this corridor.)

This centre, Newhampton Arts Centre, opened in 1999, in the grounds of an old, disused school near the city centre. It's a fantastic resource for the local community, with many clubs and groups being based here over the years. It's now threatened with closure - like all centres and cultural sites and many more places across Wolverhampton - in the latest round of council budget cuts, which will get the go ahead in March 2014. I know the council "have to" save around £98 million over the next 5 years, but that doesn't mean they have to tear apart the community. I recently sat in on a budget consultation and well, Wolverhampton is going to be a much, MUCH sadder place in the next few years. How depressing. At least this mural is bright and cheerful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.