the ride that was supposed to be...

started off for the weekend ride and met the folks from the bicycle club at the meetup point. the plan was to do a 60km ride through the highway and some inner roads....man, these guys are fast...maintaining a steady speed of upwards of 30kmph on a flat road is not the easiest thing in the world...the brakes that I installed yesterday were brushing against the rim, slowing me down...I had a tough time keeping up with those folks...and if that was not enough, after going about 23km, the pedal came off...I dont know how...everything was fine till yesterday...I had to abandon the ride...the worst part is that others were way ahead and I didn't have anybody's number. I tried to stop a passerby and asked him to pass the message on...it turned out that he understands only the local language...I somehow managed to put my message across to him...not sure how much actually reached him...put my bike in an auto and went back to the highway...there borrowed a toolkit from an auto rickshaw driver, fixed the pedal and rode back home...

lessons learnt:
1. Dont go on long rides when your bike is not in perfect condition.
2. Get a basic toolkit (at least an allen key)
3. Carry phone numbers.
4. Get your bike serviced at regular intervals.
5. Remember all of the above.

but there's a positive side to today's ride...the diversion we took went through lot of green areas with millet fields, winding roads...have to make a photography trip there some day.

have a great weekend ahead

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.