Clouds above blonde grasses......

I took a break away from the house, a quiet stroll down by the river. I see the board is out bringing to my attention of nesting birds and I've heard through the grapevine the Wrybills have re-nested after the last flood and now have chicks. I hope the traps work as feral cats are always on the prowl. Needless to say I didn't see any Wrybills today.

I did see a few Pied Stilts fossicking amongst the river stones along the waters edge, a couple of gulls glided by along with some Black Fronted Terns with their sharp eye on the water.

Summer is in full swing down by the river, the heavy scent of the broom has finished making way for the yellow lupins and wild foxgloves all looking lush and green mingling with the long grasses with lovely blonde tips catching the light.

It was a day of huge expansive clouds drifting through some looking threatening at times while others were more puffy as they rolled through the sky, it was a warm 26C with a brilliant blue sky but no sunset as later in the day thick masses of cloud engulfed the sky and hovered over our small town and its surrounding areas.

It was a good Friday, all set to welcome the weekend - Happy weekend blippers :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.