Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Another Toy

It is true, I've always been a technophile.

I am perhaps more circumspect in my interest in technology these days. Not all of it aids you in your work, or in the home. Often there is frustration that a great idea is poorly executed in its development and manufacture.

Here are two technologies, the tablet device and an electric pen. The elegance of this pen is that it transfers from paper to the tablet screen almost immediately. It can then be instantly processed into text (if your writing is legible). For a person born in 1960 I have had to develop my keyboard skills and I am still not as fast as I can write. I am currently trialling this pen and it has helped me become much more productive as it is my natural choice to take notes in meetings using a pen and paper, often requiring me to then type up notes later.

It is also not felt to be a barrier when I am talking to people; most people have no issue with someone writing as they talk to each other. Compare that with how you feel if someone is tapping away at a keyboard at the same time!

The pen, by Livescribe is not infallible and I recognise that the company has some support issues, but I think this is a really helpful piece of technology for those still more comfortable with a a pen rather than a keyboard.

If you haven't already noticed this is a Desperation Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.