Coot run

I've wanted to photograph a coot running across the water for some time. They don't do it so often and I'm usually concentrating on something else when it happens. So I was pleased to get this blip today. It ran across the sun giving a nice silhouette.

I can combine a trip to the lake with the supermarket shop since one is close to the other and I'd been trusted with the assignment of ordering the Christmas turkey - a big responsibility. Still, it wasn't far to go so first I did the coot run and then the turkey trot. A swan in flight too.

I know that all these shots are easy if you're in the right place and do the right things. But this one was much harder to get than any others I've done in the past week. The key bit of kit is still a hunk of bread since it gathers the birds around and it's when they get close to each other in competition that aggro breaks out. This coot was being pursued by another not in shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.