fishybusiness

By haddock

Resupply

A close-up of being resupplied this evening just before we left the field.

We're now on our way home. There's an end of term feel after a long month, mostly sat in the darkness waiting to do some actual work. I sat to one side of the bridge, letting the saturday steak go down, and watching (for the first time this month - every other day has been solid cloud) the moon glittering on the water.

Looking for the Aurora came to mind. The forecast sites had it as being only visible down on the horizon so I wasn't very hopeful as there was a bank of cloud the whole way round. Overhead there seemed to be a long strip of pale cloud illuminated by the moon, but it didn't look like the other clouds and I could have sworn it was wiggling.

I asked the surveyor, who lives in Sweden, what he thought it was. Probably just a cloud. Well maybe. Well maybe not. We hopped outside and I took a couple of quick shots at high ISO and all was revealed - a long glowing green strip across the sky! No real chance of any decent shots on a ship going over 5 metre waves but a few blurry ones HERE.

We watched it come and go, at times there were three parallel bands across the sky, until it faded away after half an hour. So that's a first for me, though I wonder how many times I've missed it before on previous jobs up here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.