Mikey88

By Mikey88

Starry, Starry Night

Watching the news last night, I found out that the Geminid meteor shower was due and that it would be at its best after midnight, so I finished working out the orders for the pictures which I had taken at the school nativity and then at about half past twelve, went into the garden with camera and tripod.

It was pretty clear and I stayed out for about three quarters of an hour and didn't see a single meteor - although reports from around the country seem to indicate there were actually a lot. Anyway, I took this shot of Orion. Setting the ISO to 10,000 and a shutter speed of 30 seconds. Other, longer exposures left the stars showing as streaks. I might have to try some more - but not tonight, as it's blowing a gale and rain keeps sweeping through and rattling the windows.

I printed out some of the pictures from the Schook Nativity this afternoon. I got orders for 69 prints, which was quite pleasing, but not as many as I had thought. The pictures themselves I'm really pleased with. Mind you, it's very difficult to get a poor shot of young children dressed as shepherds, angels, sheep, Mary, Joseph, Herod, inkeepers and romans. I hope their parents like them.

We had our annual trip to The Cider Press Centre in Dartington today. We've been going just before Christmas for about twenty years, now and it has become a real family tradition. It was a bit more expensive than usual this year, as Mrs Mikey spotted a rug she liked. It was half price (but still a lot of money!) which was the clinching factor and is now sitting on our front room floor looking very bright and cheerful. We even managed a few Christmas presents as well.

Hope you're all having a good weekend and the weather is better where you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.