But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

A Dreich Day.

It was the cycling club's annual formal lunch today which incorporated a photographic competition. A week ago I was hoping to provide some opposition to Lady Findhorn, she’s won it for the last few years but, last Wednesday, I discovered that she was morally barred from competing having been nominated as judge. I had been going frantic, staying up until the not so small hours in the morning trying to convert what I saw on my computer screen into something similar on paper. I was not helped by the internet connection repeatedly bombing out and taking my connection to the modem, and hence to the printer, with it; the bad language was keeping Mrs TD awake.

The knowledge that LF would not be competing did not relieve the pressure but yesterday, I made the radical decision to butcher my expensive Blipfoto calendar (it does have first rate reproductions) for my entries. The only drawback was that I did not have much to put into the “Cycling” category where there was a trophy as a prize; that was deservedly won by Liz.
However, my “Tête à Tête” from the 8th of July won the prize for what I think was called “The Artistic Section” though, with my memory, it could have been something completely different. The grand prize was a (very) small box of chocolate Christmas trees but I was very pleased with the outcome.

I think the problem with the printer, apart from its inability to handle photographic paper, is that its software does some image processing to ”optimise” my carefully Photoshopped pictures. It seems that other people use Tesco or Sainsbury for their printing.

The blip was taken out of the window of our venue, on seeing me with camera in hand, LF realised that she had not arisen before dawn to take hers, as is normally the case, so followed my example; I did think she was going to use her take on this view - it would have been interesting to compare results as I know she saw an alternative interpretation.

I now have some back-blipping to do to catch up with the wasted time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.