Life At Dragonfly Cottage

By MaitriLibellule

First Camellia in Full Bloom...

It is the time of the camellias here in the south and I stopped in my tracks seeing the first bloom on this very large, very old red camellia that reaches the roof at corner of the cottage. I just stood and stared at it and then came to my senses and took a picture of it. A deep red, so deep it is almost tinged with black, the bud so fat with petals so close there is nowhere a slip of paper could slide in between the petals. It amazes me again every year that a flower this lush has no fragrance at all, but what she lacks in perfume she makes up in sheer beauty, a feast for the eye with new flowers opening every day all winter long.

Every season has it's beauty...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.