Could have been better

Not just the weather which couldn't make up it's mind whether to rain or snow with the temperature hovering at 1°C. Angie is on a "Oh no, not another year older" diet and despite being home all week hasn't cooked or filled the fridge for over a week. Good chance for me to try and reduce the shelves of long gone past the Best By date tins and clear the freezer of some unknown contents - the record was a glass of 2009 mushrooms. Survived so far but it was a good idea only one of ate the stuff.

Today I had to give up and added to that the dogs had no more dried food. We always buy it from Aldi (please note only because the German equivalent of Which? magazine has yet again with the help of their Austrian counterparts, confirmed Aldi dried dog food is the best, Lidl too). I knew Mr&MrsB were going to pop by and waited as long as possible. Typically they arrived just as I had loaded the car with my gear & the dogs. Luckily they were here to see Angie

So off I set with the dogs to Aldi. Took the chance to go for a long walk with them somewhere we have never been before and in snow - both things they love.  Then bought a bag of dog food & some chicken pieces for myself. When I got home found we had more visitors, Angie's sister & family. Had no idea they were coming nor that she had cooked! As I appeared, they left! So set about cooking my curry. It was OK but not more. At least I have left overs for tomorrow - don't they say curry gets better the older it gets!?

On the Blip found an excellent place for Kate & J. A mountain that seems to be dedicated to sledging. A cabin lift up the mountain and then 3 different routes down, each 3.5km long. When they were over at half term we watched a 1993 video of their sledging in Austria. Kate was careful, J reckless but I think Kate was usually quicker! Time for a revenge race and perhaps the next generation, Elliot & Charlotte would enjoy it too. The Blip shows a slope/run preparation machine blocking the path which as can be seen by the sign, is closed to pedestrians in winter. Luna is leaving her mark of disapproval.

Some more impressions on Flickr

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.