Helter-skelter

By Juli

Counting down...

I've been meaning to blip for ages but doing a PGCE is as hard as they say. There's just no time for anything but work at the moment. I'm loving it but, good grief, you need to have some stamina to cope!!! I hope you are all well and looking forward to the holidays.

Some days I can't believe I've survived almost a whole term already and other days it feels like I've been on this course for an eternity. As well as planning and teaching lessons and being involved in some extra-curricular things, I've also had to mark hundreds of students' assessments and had to talk to parents at Parents' Evening. These last two are by far the scariest things I've done so far! Many times over the past few weeks I've thought back to my cosy, relatively stress-free life as a housewife and longed to have a day to just clean the house or slob on the sofa. It's been very hard juggling what feels like a full-time job and full-time study, plus everything my kids need, and still fitting some sleep in every now and then.

I finally managed to fit a couple of hours in to do some Christmas shopping and I saw this in one shop. I could have cried, it was so true (no, not the one about the toilet paper, although I nearly got that one for my kids!). Every time I think about quitting, thinking why I started this is exactly what I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.