Scribbler

By scribbler

Praying hands

Chapel, Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, Portland.

Vista is today's DDW-Mollymay challenge.
Vista: a pleasing view


Every Sunday after communion there's a prayer team in the chapel waiting to pray with you and for you. The team usually consists of a man and a woman. In this case it's a married couple who are cornerstones of our Cornerstone Benedictine community.

I often slip into the back of the chapel and just pray there. I know that if they have no other customers the team will be praying for me, and if they do, I pray for all of them. Today when I was finished I looked up and saw this scene, which struck me as such a beautiful image of church at its best that I couldn't resist recording it.

Today my prayers were for Eve, who phoned me last night from her home in California. We have known each other and prayed for each other for many years. I sometimes think she and ny nun friend Tosca Maria prayed me into the Catholic Church. Eve has just embarked on a month of daily radiation treatments for a tumor, and also has a deep vein thrombosis. She is old and frail, though strong as ever in her spirit. I'm afraid she may not make it, and that would be a great loss to me. I'm grateful for her friendship and her presence in my life. She has no husband and no children but is greatly loved by many people. I think she's a saint who prays for more people than the Pope does.

May Eve's remaining days, however many they may be, be filled with joy, hope, peace, healing, and thanksgiving. May all the saints and angels bear her closer to God, one day at a time.

------------------------

Thank you, dear blip people, for your continued interest and your generous comments. I continue to struggle with the necessity to finish my novel and find it difficult to spend as much time with you as I would like. I send you blessings for everything close to your heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.