Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

Steam locomotive park

AT work we had a recreation day. A bus was rented to take us a long way to Central Finland. Our journey began at 7 am and around 9 am we had a coffee break at Kangasala. There was also a car museum. There were alcoholic beverages available in the bus, so even the journey of almost 4 hours didn't feel that long:)

At our destination, Haapamäki steam locomotive park, we used handcars to get us even more into the middle of nowhere. The distance was 8 kilometres, most of which the track was ascending, so it required quite a lot of pumping to get us into the fire place located in the middle of a forest. When we arrived, we had some coffee prepared with bonfire awaiting us. We also barbecued some sausages, had some beer, cider and wine.

The journey back to the steam locomotive park was much easier and quicker, as the track was descending. AFter a buffet lunch we took a look at the locomotives. The one in the photo is made in Soviet Union, and if I remember correctly, it weighs about 170 tonnes. Loaded with water and coal it requires to function properly, it weighs over 200 tonnes.

After checking the locomotives my workmates entered the bus for another long journey back to Southern FInland, while I first waited 3 hours for a train and then spent three and half an hour in trains (and stations; I changed the train twice). Finally, about quarter to 10 p.m I was at Kuopio. And spent the night at my fiancee's (she had already arrived earlier) parents' place.

I was responsible for taking photographs of the recreation day and I got to keep it with me the whole weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.