Arjen kukkasia

By katrikuu

Happy Birthday, Jane!

Jane Austen was born 238 years ago, today is her birthday.

I first read the Finnish translation of Pride and Prejudice when I was 17. I could not understand how it was possible that a classic novel was so enjoyable and witty. I had thought classics were supposed to be challenging, difficult to understand and full of anxiety. I had thought it was almost heroical to read a classic novel.

Today I have read all Austen's novels, some of them twice. Some of them even in English, although the clever writing has made it clear that her novels can be challenging too. I have met devoted fans of hers and had a number of interesting discussions about her books and about the British society of that era. I have watched several films and tv dramas based on her novels.

So warmest congratulations, sweet Jane, your writing is still very much alive!

My advent calendar project 16/24.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.