My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Sleaford's New Renewable Energy Plant.........

..............seen on my way home from what I hoped would be my last shopping spree in Grantham and Sleaford - unfortunately I was only able to get half of what I was looking for!

I have had a few minutes to find out a little about the Plant so if you are interested, read on (if not just skip it!) :-

As well as generating electricity, the surplus heat generated by this plant will be harnessed and used for heating Sleaford’s public swimming pool and indoor bowling centre, the town’s football club and, subject to planning consent, provide surplus heat to North Kesteven District Council’s office in the town. By using the surplus heat, the plant’s efficiency is increased.
The plant is a multi-million pound investment for the local economy, creating up to 250 jobs during construction and 80 during commercial operation.
The plant’s proven technology is designed for the clean and efficient combustion of straw, the by-product of wheat production, secured mainly from farms within a 30-mile radius of Sleaford. Ash produced by the plant will be recycled as crop fertiliser.
The plant is a multi-million pound investment for the local economy, creating up to 250 jobs during construction and 80 during commercial operation. This news is very much welcomed in the town.
Eco2 Lincs Ltd, the owner of the Sleaford Renewable Energy Plant, is committed to supporting the local area. As well as agreeing long-term contracts with local farms to supply the straw to the plant, Eco2 Lincs will provide direct funding to community-based projects, to enhance the economic and environmental sustainability of the area.
The Plant should be fully operational by 2014.

My house is just about back to normal now and I hope to have a bit more time to look for a few more interesting subjects than I have found of late! I apologise yet again for not replying to your kind comments for some days and, indeed, hardly commenting on your pictures. Whether I shall be able to catch up, I really don't know but I will TRY!

The weather has not been too bad - a little rain - but temperatures in the mid 40s F so quite mild.

Hope you had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.