HeyLittleBird

By Rebekah

Deniz

Today wasn't a day for taking photos. It was a day to catch up with some incredible friends who I hadn't seen for 6+ months. I'm definitely ok with that. :-)

The day started with an incredibly civilised breakfast of croissants with jam at Amy's flat. How cosmopolitan of us!

Then ensued the longest drive from Guildford to Birmingham. Ok, so it only took 2 hours, but it was a hungover and rainy journey which seemed to go on and on. After dropping my car at Maria's I walked to the Bullring to meet Deniz. My Turkish bro, who I lived with for 2 years at Uni. We'd definitely underestimated just how busy the centre of Birmingham was going to be... On a Saturday right before christmas... Duh... But it was great to see eachother after so long. We spent a couple of ours wandering round the christmas market and got some lunch together, then headed back to Maria's house.

Maria is moving back to NY, so tonight she'd organised a going away party to get the old Warwick Salsa bunch back together. A group of about 24 of us (I think) all met at an amazing Syrian restaurant in town. Ensue the general hilarity that happens when we're together, involving belly dancing, "that's what she said" jokes, and the drunkenness that accompanies a BYOB restaurant... This is where this extremely fuzzy picture was taken. Its more about the memories that accompany this one, though.

After the meal, we walked to a bar/club somewhere near new street (i think?!). Plentiful tequila shots happened. I remember thinking to myself at the time "this dj is amazing!", but of course now i don't remember what songs he was playing to make me think that... I do, however, remember that "Danza Kuduro" was played: the Warwick Salsa dance anthem. And yes, of course we did our dance line-up in the middle of this packed bar. People must have hated us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.