Lost in Thought

By steveng

Christmas Traditions

Today's blip was intended to be a nice atmospheric shot of Chesterton Windmill*, a local landmark. However, most of my day, when it was sunny, went on a job application. So by the time I arrived at the windmill in the fabled 'golden hour' before sunset it was more like 'cold cloudy grey hour' so I decided to fall back on Christmas decorations and had settled on the one our daughter made for me when she was 6, that didn't turn out well either so I tried a different tradition.

My weekly German class has been going for a while and we celebrate the last week of the Christmas term with a kit-form buffet. Each of brings something, often from a home country recipe: Serbia, Czech Republic, Germany or the UK. My contribution is Rye Bread and a Victoria Sandwich which my wife makes, this is all that is left from this year's version, and these pieces probably won't last beyond tonight.

I could try to claim Victoria married a German prince who brought the tradition of Christmas trees to the UK and that's why we have a Victoria sponge, but that would be cheating, we have it for no other reason that Gill makes the best sponge you'll ever taste ;-)

*Chesterton windmill has been photographed by many people over the years, this one is from lostpixel http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1826325

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.