A Welcome Hand

One for the journal for me today, I've been reclaiming a small field on the land at home. Many years ago, it was cultivated by our pigs, then it grew potatoes. In the absence of any activity it was very quickly reclaimed by nature, brambles, willow birch and gorse. On the recent workday we dug up the birch for transplanting in the expanding woodlands on the farm. Then a neighbour with his mini digger dug out the remaining scrub. The next task of pulling out the remaining loose roots felt quite daunting to work alone so I called on a friend who charges a very reasonable rate. It was great to have a hand and soon a big pile of roots had been removed and the land raked. A third of the area was done today. In the spring I'll sow some wild flower seed, for now I have saved some grass seed and this will be scattered on the bare earth.
I left my camera at work yesterday so I'll have to backblip that image!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.