But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Good Seed Germinates.

I tried googling "We Plough the Fields and Scatter" to see if any of the subsequent words might provide a title for this blip. The page I found had a nauseating picture of a small girl wearing a white dress, a blue flower in her hair and it came with the suggestion that this was a suitable hymn for a wedding. As a choir boy, I remember being hard pressed to suppress sniggers while singing this on such an occasion, and it was hard - particularly as our meagre pay, probably half a crown, depended on our succeeding.

Well, this field has been recently ploughed, the seed scattered about eight weeks ago, and the germination good. All we need now is for torrential rain, such as we had last winter, to wash everything into the burn; a farmer's lot is not a happy one. The crop is a cereal though I won't be able to identify which until the spring but, with this not being an arable farm, I guess it is intended for livestock feed.

I do like the lines of cultivation combined with the undulations of the land, and while Mrs TD studiously concentrates on her task as my model, Merlin looks to see what the hell I'm playing at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.