minnie me

By bmm

Ludlow Quality

This old wall thermometer has a special significance for me. I picked it up on eBay about a year ago pretty cheap, and it seems fairly accurate.

The significance? Ludlow Manufacturing Co. was the main employer in the town of Ludlow Massachusetts at the turn of the 19th century and was the reason so many Polish and French-Canadian immigrants settled in this area. All 4 of my Polish great-grandparents worked at the company after arriving in America, sacrificing and laying the foundation for the generations that followed. Earlier generations of my French-Canadian side were employed there as well, so I can truly say my family history is deeply rooted in the Ludlow Manufacturing Co.

It looks cool hanging in my office too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.