Whitehowes

By Whitehowes

Crowning glory

I blipped a view of this lovely structure earlier in the year and so I was keen for a return blip. I was not disappointed and this time I was also treated to a festive scene. This is taken from the upper level looking down on the western concourse.

The roof is a complex diagrid shell structure designed by John McAslan and Partners and engineered by Arup. You can see whee the structure rises up a great steel stalk in the centre and then spreads into a tree-like canopy of intersecting branches, before descending into a ring of supports at the circumference with a span of 52 m. It connects with the original 1852 grade I listed rail terminus.

This is part of the £500m creation of a "transport super-hub"completed in time for the London 2012 Olympics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.