Waiting .....

..... by the phone.

I had a call from my brother this afternoon to let me know my dad had fallen over at work and knackered his ankle. At first he thought it was a bad sprain but after hobbling to the truck, going home then going to hospital for an X-ray it turns out he's shattered both the bones in his lower legs in numerous places and has had to be sent to a different hospital for them to do an operation to pin it back together and fit a frame.

My dad has a huge fear of having a general anaesthetic and is insisting he's going to have the operation with a local anaesthetic or an epidural, he's a stubborn old sod. Dad says he isn't bothered about being awake during the op, I've tried to explain to him that the general anaesthetic isn't just for his benefit but will also make the job a lot easier for the surgeon as he will be able to get on with the operation without having to worry about constantly explaining what's going on and having to worry about what dad is hearing and feeling as the op is done.

The operation is going to involve lots of cutting drilling and manipulation of bone fragments and will no doubt take a fair few hours. I'm currently sat waiting for my dad to give me a call back after he's spoken to the surgeon. The operation won't go ahead until tomorrow as there is currently too much swelling in the leg and it had to be left elevated over night. I'm just hoping the surgeon can persuade dad to go under a general anaesthetic.

I've blipped a photo that my brother has sent me of dad using Peanut as a footrest after he'd gone home after the first hospital to pick up some bits and pieces before heading to the second one. It's going to be a tough few months and I doubt I'll get much sleep tonight, so today's blip is .....


..... Waiting by the phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.