Plaza de la Merced

Today I spent most of the day in Malaga. The last time I was here was in 2005 around the time of the London bombing.

The city is often overlooked but it offers a tasty cocktail of sunshine, tapas and art. Chic boutiques, gastrobars and cool cafés have sprung up alongside the traditional taverns in the winding lanes in the heart of the city, while the waterfront has been developed with a promenade, bars, restaurants and shops.

Today I decided to take in some of the less well known parts of the city. But it is really a place to sit back and just enjoy the laid back Mediterranean ambience.

After exploring the Cathedral area, I went for a coffee in the El Jardin (a lovely cafe with a great art nouveau ambience) and then had a light lunch at the amazing Antique Casa Guardia (will be going back there).

Later on I spent some time at the birthplace of Picasso, now the head office that bears his name, before wandering round the nearby Plaza de la Merced where there is a fabulous statue of Picasso. I liked this shot with the beautiful apartment buildings and this large Picasso banner to one side.

I love Malaga, the people and the architecture.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.