If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Hexham General Hospital

As I said when I started, the purpose of this journal is to record my personal journey over the next few months.

Well it started in earnest today! I arrived early for my 11:10am appointment and had a bit of time to view the impressive exterior. Over the next two hours I was examined and checked for all problems know to man (and I think a few that aren't). I also had a session with the Occupational Therapist, who explained to me the things I would need to do to make sure there were no problems after the operation. All was well in the checks department and the help on offer for immediate post operation problems was, to say the least, extensive.

After a very quick lunch I had an appointment with the surgeon who explained thoroughly what he was going to do. Fortunately he didn't go into too much detail of exactly how he was going to do it.

The Sister who carried out the main part of my morning session suggested we should go up to the ward and have a look round so I knew where to go and what to expect. Taking her at her word we went up and had a look round. Speaking to one of the nurses who asked when I was to be admitted she said "come along and I will show you what your room will be like". MY room! I am not going as a private patient! It turns out that unless they are very busy I will be in my own room with an en suite bathroom.

So I left Hexham very impressed, very reassured and while not looking forward to the event at least not dreading it. So when I am admitted in February they expect me to be on my feet in a couple of hours and out in two days or perhaps three.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.