Brotographer

By Brotographer

Compromises

(sorry for the bad photo, it was taken out the window because that's all the snow I really got to see today...)

Today I could feel my neck quite badly. Turning it in any direction resulted in a lot of pain. My right ribs also felt pretty bad, and getting up hurt, let alone laughing or coughing. So I decided to stay in bed and heal rather than hit the pistes with the others. As a result, I'm not sure what most people did, although Jay also stayed in all day, and Kris and Alex didn't ski much either. I took the opportunity to clean up the flat, which was the messiest it ever was. The stack of bottles on the balcony grew considerably. It was definitely worth the cleaning, as we ended up having our biggest pre-drinks session that night.

It started easily with some casual games between the winning squadron bros. Red or black, I follow rivers, f*** you doodler. A few forfeits were had, cereal, lightsabers, ketchup. Louise, our rep, came over as usual to appreciate the beginning of things. Tom made the mistake of taking a triple shot of vodka to get his head off the table. Democratic thumbs-up votes can be dangerous. Words starting with B were deemed illegal. And Alex had set up his go pro on the wall to record the whole thing in one big timelapse!
Then others started arriving. Ant and his flat. Zoe and her flat. Louise came as well, finally. All the south america girls. The rowing girls. Probably a couple others as well! It was alive and big. And it was buzzing when we decided to hit the icy road and go to Malaysia for a big night. First though, we went to Snow Cafe. That place is great, one of the places which is more than a bar, simply because there's a DJ and everyone dances. A couple of our requests went down immensely well, namely I Follow Rivers. I swear that song is incredibly old, but I think someone British remixed it and its a big hit again. I'm not complaining, the song has been an anthem all of the second half of 2013!!
Danny byrd, a drum and bass DJ, was playing At Malaysia. They'd opened up the whole place, which is actually huge and awesome. Byrd was in a circular DJ booth, and he played a sick set which had us dancing for a long time. Club-wise, this was probably the best night, I really wish there were quality dnb nights to go to in Leam. Not sure when we made it back, but we stayed up talking for a while, until I realized my neck needed a rest if I wanted to go skiing tomorrow. Drum and bass definitely didn't take it easy on my body. Best night of tour though? Probably.

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.