Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Shopping for Swedish food….

Once a year before Christmas finds me in the Scandinavian Deli - there’s only one left in this town--- to buy their pickled herring, swedish cheeses, hardtack, and coffee cake if there is any left. (there wasn’t. Oh dear, will I have to make it?) They were out of fish cakes, but there was plenty of Lutfisk. I grew up eating lutfisk on Christmas Eve but no more! (This is just fine since I’m not cooking...) One could buy a viking helmet or glogg mix or sweaters or many Swedish or Norwegian or Danish gifts or candy....and there’s a cafe section.

And who should I run into there (what fun!) but my daughter-in-law’s parents, who live nowhere near here!!! - her Mom is Swedish - I see her looking at the pickled beets....(Rodkal with the appropriate letters….) We'll all enjoy our pickled herring…..and are not about to give up on some long time traditions….

Edit: d-i-l says she noticed they have our "fire starting candle holder"… ((the green trees on top shelf that hold little candles that can easily be forgotten, burn down, and set the wooden tree on fire! hummm how do we know this?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.