Mad world

It's been a long day..

Started with Zumba, a class attended by mostly over 60s. Not that that means it was any easier. The over 60s are an inspiration, and one of them is over 80.

Then I was on my way south to see the family before Christmas. I like travelling and I like being on trains. I was able to read, knit, and order some Christmas presents. The train wasn't crowded and it arrived early :-)

I had decided to walk from Oxford Circus to Trafalgar Square, to see the lights and the shops. There was a lot of spending going on, especially in Hamley's. There were some lovely toys in there, but who pays those inflated prices?

Travelling towards the Thames, things become a bit more gritty. This photo was taken outside St Martins in the Fields Church, which would be my church of choice if I lived here. They have a caring and inclusive approach (and also a fantastic cafe in the crypt and wonderful concerts). A rehearsal was going on and I sat and listened for a while. A man was sprawled out asleep on a pew. Nobody batted an eyelid. There was an opportunity to donate to the BBCRadio 4 appeal for the homeless. You can donate £5 by texting CARE to 70700.

I walked down to the Embankment and caught a river bus to London Bridge. In all my years of living and visiting London, I have never been on the River. It was wonderful. The Thames, after all, is where the city started. As we sailed, I listened to this. I had been reading on the train about how Roland Orzobal came to write it in the 1980s. It seemed an appropriate and beautiful song to sum up my day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.