One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Winter solstice

Not quite.
But it was my last time going through my own personal Newgrange for 2013, the pedestrian bridge going over the railway line in Kilbarrack, linking Knackeragua with Skangerland.

And as the timid rays of the newborn sun caressed my face this morning, I knew that I had reached a new milestone.
Another year of commuting to get Luca to his special school.
Another round trip on a packed Dart, surrounded by pissed off commuters (it looks like I am not the only one who took umbrage at the 29% hike in my train ticket at the start of the month…)

But anyway, it’s all behind me for two full weeks now.
Luca is not going to school tomorrow and they only watch videos anyway, something that he can do from the comfort of his home (and me from the comfort of my bed).

I have rarely needed a break the way I do right now.

I have hit a wall. Those last few days before the Christmas break are taking the very last bit of energy out of me.

I so desperately need to sleep according to the cosmic calendar (the one that says that daylight doesn’t start before 8.15 AM and stops at 4.15 PM), not the corporate one.

Sleep. Oh sweet sweet simple orgasmic sleep.

Update: Luca informed me that there is a Christmas party for his class tomorrow and that he'd really really really like to go.
And he did the sad puppy eyes trick.

I have set my alarm clock for 6.30 AM...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.