800: Obsessed

This is my 800th blip, and although that's not an "official" Blip birthday, I wanted something special to mark the day, so I chose this colorful sextet.

I'm obsessed by color and pattern, particularly when they're put together by local fabric artist Sue Burke, who made the wall quilt for me that I blipped in January. She's recently been making quilted pot holders; what you see above are six of them, with their hanging loops tucked under for full enjoyment of the riot of color and pattern. I bought a total of 11 in the last few weeks, fully intending to give them as Christmas gifts.

Five were sent to folks whom I knew would enjoy them, one was hung in my kitchen where I could look at it every day -- and the last five are still here, too, as I can't bear to part with them, and will rotate them through as solo art objects in my kitchen every couple of months.

A concrete sequential introvert, I'm a lover of lists and plans, balance and stability, polishing and editing, but these randomly arranged blocks of color and free-form quilting fascinate and energize me, and that's reason enough to love them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.