zebra

By zebra

Christmas Shopping

This little 'hoteli' [which loosely translates into [i]cafe[/i]] has been on my radar for quite some time. I finally had to park in the nearby gas station, get out of my car and stand across the street to get this.

It is simply a shady little dump but I am sure it has delicious tea and for a fraction of the cost of the restaurants found in Westlands. But what I really wanted to focus on was the menu because it is just so typical.

On the left hand side of the door, you get the menu for meat (I assume beef but that is an assumption - could be goat):

Nyama Choma = BBQ (roasted)
Chemsha=boiled meat (stew)
Fry= I think you can get that one
Tayari= Ready!

On the right hand side of the menu you have:

Madodo = beans
Ndengu=lentils
Soda Baridi= cold soda
Chapati=a flat pancake-ish thing made from wheat flour
Ugali= corn meal made into consistency of play-dough

So, in case you were looking for new things to put on your Christmas dinner menu - go on, borrow a leaf!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.