dfb24

By dfb24

Heart Ornament

About every 2 months or so each of us at work needs to pick up a later shift, & today is my day....so instead of starting so early I work from 10-1800. If it's anything like last Friday, I figure I may have to stay an hour or two later, so had better get my blip in before I leave! Since I don't have a lot of time, I went with another ornament blip. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, every ornament on our tree has significance, & this heart is no different. I saw it in 1991, the year my daughter was born--she'd have been 6 months old that Chrismas Eve.--When I saw it, I just fell in love with it! When it's closed up, it's a heart, & when you open it up, there's a scene inside. I think they were made for 4 or 5 years in a row, & I bought one each year. The first time I saw it, & everytime I've looked at it since, it reminds me of a cross-stitch sampler that I saw years ago, where someone had stitched this saying: "A daughter is just her mother's heart, walking around outside her". How very true! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.