Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Not beach huts

It was bright and sunny today. There are acres of glasshouses around here but nothing to rival the south of Spain. Glass is used to accelerate growth and to allow crops like tomatoes to grow in conditions that are not otherwise favourable. A lot of the glasshouses are on smallholdings although there are some that use the intensive techniques that are environmentally unfriendly. Some would argue that the use of these techniques is less problematic than transporting goods from distant parts of Europe or elsewhere. I only spent half a day at work. In the afternoon I attended a Speed Awareness course. I had been miffed that I had to attend after only being a fraction over the limit but, in fact, I found the course interesting and instructive. I think it will actually modify my driving behaviour a little. It is easy to get complacent after many years of driving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.