Countdown to Christmas - St Alban's Abbey Carols

Six days - and we'll be there!

This is not the photo I thought I'd post this evening, but as I walked back to the car, the West Front of the Abbey looked magnificent. .

People were arriving for the carol service and I thought it summed up the true meaning of Christmas.

This day, many years ago, at the age of 17, I was taken on my first skiing holiday, by a girl friend and her family. The first day, I broke my leg very badly and spent the next two weeks in a hospital in Switzerland, having my leg screwed back together.

I was the only English speaking patient in the hospital, but they put me in a bed next to a woman who could speak some French, so I could communicate a bit with her.
The nurses were all nuns and one very kindly lent me her portable record player and one vinyl LP -
It was the service of Nine Lessons and Carols from King's College Cambridge.
I played it a lot!!

I cannot listen to the opening carol - Once in Royal David's City now without my leg tingling !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.