Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Watching for Rabbits

Here I was, awakened by the alarm clock at 4.45am…..out in the kitchen taking the Christmas cake out of the oven. It was beautifully cooked and smelt lovely. “What the heck” I thought, as I poured a quarter cup of brandy over the hot cake and listened to it sizzle. I am wide awake now, no point in going back to bed so it was off out with the dogs to the Taylor River.
It was not a very exciting dawn. There were lots of grey/blue clouds in the sky, some of them lenticular, thus promising a nor-west day. Here is Fergus at the start of our walk. He often stands and stares very intently into the far distance as he is doing in this image. He is watching for rabbits out and about in the early light. Or anything else that moves. There are wild game birds in the scrub along some part of the river tracks. I have heard a male pheasant calling in several places. Luckily the dogs have not got onto them.
I suppose everyone is frantically busy getting prepared for the festive season. So do take care everyone, take time to smell the roses and take time to blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.