The Chainsaw Carver

I wasn't the only one who thought this was a brilliant idea. There was a little article about it in our local newspaper. The tree was "ailing" and the homeowners asked the carver to do something with the stump. When we drove by this morning to check on progress, he was just putting gas into his chainsaw so I chatted with him for a few minutes. He doesn't really have a full blown design, he just lets it "evolve". (You can check out my first blip of this project on my entry of 12/13/13) He graciously allowed me to take his picture, picking up his chainsaw for effect. I told him it was perfect because he didn't have to worry about smiling on command (something OilMan has great difficulty doing...)

I had another conversation with a man at Spring Lake who had his three big dogs sitting on a picnic table while he did his warm up exercises. He posed for me as well, but the dogs weren't as accommodating as he was....

Tonight we are going to go out to a steakhouse in Petaluma for Will's birthday (since he had to study for a Chemistry final on his actual birthday...) He is going to drive OilMan there, since we can't all fit in one car. It won't be the car I almost wrecked because he hasn't had a single lesson with the stick shift. I've been driving it for years and should have known better than to try to start from a dead stop on a steep hill!

Although this is the shortest day of the year, I like to think of it as each day from now on being longer....

Happy Solstice to all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.