CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

Silent Night

I was pondering today's challenge, A Christmas Sign and thought about how few signs say "Merry Christmas", and yet there are plenty with "Seasons Greetings" or "Happy Holidays". It seems that many folks are afraid of offending others if they use the word, "Christmas."

I have driven by a sign in our neighborhood many times. It is part of the outdoor Christmas decorations - a snowman holding a sign that says - Seasons Greetings, The L Family. I was planning to use that for my photo of the day. As I was taking the photo, a group of carolers, braving the cold, crossed the street to where I was. I asked if I could take their picture. They immediately agreed and then sang a most beautiful rendition of "Silent Night", just for me. It was very cold, minus 20 or so. You could see their breath as they sang. But they sang with such gusto and reverence, clear tones and perfect harmony. What an awesome close to the day. How could I not post their picture, instead of the sign?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.