AnyOldIron

By AnyOldIron

A Grand Night Out

Here's me and Big Bloke about to set off for a grand night out.

We went to Scunthorpe Baths Hall to see the Black Dyke Band, who were absolutely brilliant and got us right into the mood for Christmas with a second half full of Christmassy wonderfulness.

I grew up listening to brass bands as my brother played the cornet from a very young age and I was dragged around to his concerts. He started with our village band and rose to the pinnacle of his career, winning the British Open with Marple Band in 1996.

Consequently the sound reminds me happily of my childhood and as Big Bloke loves it too we were definitely in our element last night. Interesting to note that we did bring the average age of the audience down a bit, which was heartwarming for us!

A win for Scunny yesterday afternoon and the right person winning Strictly just topped off a wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.