Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

The Hands of a Mastercraftsman...

..or how to make a pile of sawdust!

We intended to go for a walk or to the local RSPB reserve this morning, but it was raining quite heavily, so I asked Dad whether he would show me how to turn a bit of wood on his wood lathe. So Dad and I adjourned to his 'man cave' and he gave me some tuition on how to turn a piece of wood from a square block into a pile of sawdust small goblet.

First of all I roughed up a piece of wood to get rid of the sharp edges and turn it into a cylinder, then using a different type of chisel I then practiced making different shapes in the wood. Once I had mastered these basics Dad let me loose on a piece of ash wood and we created a small goblet.

Here is a picture of my Dad demonstrating the art of wood turning. Some other shots of the morning activities including the finished product can be seen in my Flickr feed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.