Combi31

By Combi31

Dinner is served ...

Moments later, the furry, scurrying thing was no more …

Incredible how effective hunters these birds are, it never fails to amaze me - the speed, acuity of sight and hearing.

On the way to the lakes today, I parked up and for a change there were two other cars where I park up … I thought of giving them a ticket .. nah, not really.

It was two chasseurs - I stopped to chat as they commented on my lens as I was leaving my car. They are not allowed to hunt near the lakes, which is a good thing.

They asked what I was going to photograph and we got speaking about wild boar as I saw one yesterday - there's none here they said, with an air of consummate expertise. In true panto style (lost on these mustached French hunters) I retorted 'Oh, yes there are' resisting the urge to say 'behind you' …

Ah, you don't risk anything with a boar they said, unless it's a female with young.
Ah, Ok, said I, and it's not the season, ah, yes it is they said, they have young all year round now, and look at the weather, you'd think it was spring.

I returned to my car to fetch my chili spray … just in case.

And they were right, it was a beautiful day, shirt-sleeves weather - I didn't even need a coat this afternoon.

We have family here for the weekend so embarked on the first (of many) Christmas lunches - nice, but I needed a good walk afterwards.

I hope your Sunday is a good :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.